Databases

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Databases require your Library Card Number and PIN. Please contact the Library if you need assistance accessing a database. 
Library Resources

Popular Links

Ancestry Library Edition
In-Library Use Only – Search over one billion historical records covering hundreds of years of family trees, census records, birth, marriage and death records, military records, city directories, immigration records, newspapers, and more.

Consumer Reports
Access consumer and product information such as product research, buying guides, and more.
*Contact the Reference desk for access to Consumer Reports.

Mango Languages

From Arabic to Yiddish, Mango Languages offers fun, interactive learning for more than 70 languages.

Newsbank
Read full-text articles from The Grand Island Independent as well as other regional and worldwide titles.

Help Links

Cypress Resume
Create free resumes and cover letters.

Tutor.com
Whether you need free tutoring for a class, help writing a paper, preparing for tests, or finding a job, Tutor.com is the place for you.

Note: Due to growing demand, individual library card holders may access up to 5 tutoring sessions per week.

OCLC First Search
A catalog of books and other materials held in libraries worldwide.

ReferenceUSA
Provides access to data on over 53 million businesses, as well as job postings, healthcare, consumer, and homeowner information as well as access to both U.S. and Canadian White Pages telephone entries.

Scholastic Go
Explore non-fiction topics, newspapers, dictionaries, atlases and videos on a wide-variety of subjects.

Consumer Links

Chilton Auto Library
View Chilton Auto Manuals for hundreds of makes and models of vehicles and access repair information, electrical schematics, and ASE test prep quizzes.

Consumer Health Complete
 Consumer Health Complete provides access to a wide variety of easily understandable health and wellness resources.

Consumer Reports

Access consumer and product information such as product research, buying guides, and more.
*Contact the Reference desk for access to Consumer Reports.

Value Line
Access investment research and finance information.

EbscoHost Links

Biography Reference Bank
Access biographies, abstracts, articles, images, and more for over half a million notable people.

Biography Reference Center
A collection of full-text biographies of notable people including world leaders, authors, and performers.

EbscoHost
Search all Ebsco Databases quickly for instant access to reliable research for hundreds of thousands of topics. Searches Ebsco eBook Collection, Biography Reference Bank, GreenFILE, Science & Technology, Funk & Wagnall's Encyclopedia, Primary Search, Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection, and MasterFILE Complete.

Explora
Discover information about arts and literature, biography, business, current events, geography and culture, health, history and social studies, and science and math.

Explora Educator's Edition
Access full-text scholarly, peer-reviewed, full-text journals, lesson plans, classroom support materials, and professional development resources.

Explora Primary
Explore information about animals, arts and music, biographies, geography, language arts, math, science and health, and social studies.

Legal Information Reference Center
Legal Information Reference Center provides access to legal information regarding business and corporations; family affairs and divorce; immigration and travel; money and financial planning; patents, copyrights, and trademarks; property and real estate; rights and disputes; wills and estate planing; as well as popular legal forms, including Nebraska-specific forms.

Points of View Reference Center
Contains resources that presents multiple sides of issues, for greater understanding of controversial and popular topics.

NoveList Plus
Access reading recommendations, reviews, and series information for fiction and non-fiction books.

NoveList K-8 Plus
Access reading recommendations, reviews, and series information for children's fiction and non-fiction books.

Small Business Reference Center
Resources for small business owners and entrepreneurs including full-text magazine and journal articles, trade publications, industry reports, and small-business start-up kits.

Community Links

Driving-tests.org
Free practice tests and information for the Nebraska driver's exams for personal vehicles, motorcycles, and commercial driver's licensing.

MyHeritage Library Edition
Access millions of genealogical records including census and voter lists, family trees, vital records, and more.

NebraskAccess
24/7 access to premium databases containing thousands of magazine and journal articles, genealogical, health, legal, and small business information, as well as reading and research resources.

Note: NebraskAccess is free to ALL Nebraska residents. Access outside of the library requires a valid Nebraska Driver's License/Identification Card number or the current NebraskAccess Password.